Dwellinginthedesert's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

In the beginning…

Today’s passages:  Genesis 1 and 2, Matthew 1 – 2:12, Psalms 1, Proverbs 1:1-6

I would say that even a lot of non-Christians know about the stories found in my readings from today – early Genesis and Matthew speak of the story of creation and lead-in to the birth of Jesus, respectively –  but the passage that stood out to me today was actually Psalms 1.  I’m pretty familiar with the Psalms in general, but for some reason this morning, when reading the opening chapter of the book, I found myself underlining all the verses… even went back to re-read twice.  I’m not certain I’ve ever actually let the verses stick.

Psalms 1 is basically David’s opening observations on what separates the righteous and wicked, which we all know is a common theme in the walk of faith.  David’s words, in my opinion, are particularly eloquent in Psalms 1.  But in his [the wise] delight is the law of the Lord, and on His law he meditates day and night.  He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither.  Whatever he does prospers(Psalms 1:2-3) Despite all the questions I have of God and faith and my place in this whole thing (and there are many, my first big one of which is coming in the next couple days), I can think of no one who would disapprove of having such words spoken of them.

The story of David in general is an interesting one.  From his humble beginnings to his chosen king status to Bathsheba to running in the wilderness to Solomon, I’m not sure if there was a man in the Bible who lived more “human” existence, if that’s the appropriate phrase, than that guy.  He stood on the mountaintop and trudged through the valleys, which I’m sure we’ll discuss further into this whole thing.

If anyone is reading this and would like to contribute some links on David’s biography and history, please feel free to do so directly in the comments section below or email them to me at ben.sheffield@gmail.com and I’ll give you credit for them if I decide to use them at a later time.  For the record, that goes with anything Bible-related, including things that may challenge the Scripture, as I’m going to put anything that I think to be useful for discussion in this endeavor…

Have a good evening, all.

Tomorrow’s passages:  Genesis 3 and 4, Matthew 2:13 – 3:6, Psalms 2, Proverbs 1:7-9

No Responses to “In the beginning…”

Leave a Reply

